United Arab Emirates · Medicine & nursing

OET for UAE licensing: DHA, DOH and MOHAP (unified PQR)

In the UAE's unified licensing requirements (PQR version 3, April 2025, used by MOHAP, DHA, DOH and SHA), OET appears only as English evidence in specific clauses, at grade C or above, for applicants whose degree wasn't taught in English or whose licence comes from a non-English-speaking country.

Last checked 21 Oct 2026Official source ↗

Minimum OET scores

0–500 per sub-test
200Listening
200Reading
200Writing
200Speaking

OET is not a general requirement for UAE licensing. The PQR lists it, with IELTS 5.0 and TOEFL 500, in particular exemption clauses. We read 'not lower than C' as grade C (200+) in each sub-test, but the PQR doesn't spell that out. OET also says DOH and DHA residency programmes recognise it, with their own conditions.

The rules around the lines

Lines apply
Unified PQR, version 3 (April 2025).
Combining sittings
Not stated in the PQR. Check with the licensing authority.
OET@Home
Not stated in the PQR.
Validity
Not stated in the PQR.
Single sub-test resit
Not stated.
Version
Take the version for your profession.
Check with the regulator: we couldn't confirm whether grade C applies to each sub-test; residency programme score lines; combining sittings, OET@Home and validity from an official source.

What changed

  • Apr 2025

    Unified PQR version 3 published for all four UAE health authorities. Source

Questions candidates ask

Do I need OET to work as a nurse or doctor in the UAE?

Usually not. UAE licensing runs on the unified PQR and the authorities' licensing exam. OET appears only in specific clauses as English evidence, for people whose degree wasn't in English or whose licence is from a non-English-speaking country.

What OET grade does the PQR ask for?

Not lower than C (200 or more), listed alongside IELTS 5.0 and TOEFL 500. The PQR doesn't say whether this means each sub-test, so check with DHA, DOH or MOHAP.

Do DHA or DOH residency programmes need a higher OET score?

OET says these programmes recognise OET, but we couldn't confirm their score lines. Check the programme's own requirements.

Sources

Last checked 21 Oct 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.